Click on the image to see enlargement and information

The Joyful Mysteries

The Annunciation The Visitation The Birth of Christ The Presentation The Finding in the temple

The Sorrowful Mysteries

The Agony in the Garden The Scourging at the Pillar The Crowning with Thorns The Carrying of the Cross The Crucifixion

The Glorious Mysteries

The Resurrection The Ascension The Coming of the Holy Ghost The Assumption of Mary The Crowning of Mary

The five joyful, five sorrowful and five glorious mysteries will be familiar to Roman Catholics and High Anglicans everywhere. Meditating on these fifteen mysteries from scripture while saying an Our Father and ten Hail Mary prayers, a form of meditation known as the Holy Rosary, is an essential part of this tradition. The rosary was introduced by St. Dominic in the 13th century as a modern echo of the 150 psalms of the Old Testament.

The five joyful mystery paintings are housed at the Priory of Christ the King at Tororo, in Uganda.

The five sorrowful mysteries will be housed at the "bible on the ground" church at Nanyuki, Kenya, when the church is completed.

The five glorious mysteries are housed at the Benedictine Study House at Langata, Nairobi, Kenya.

 Home  Fantasy Portraits Demo Mische Technique Visionary Paintings  Portraits
Artist  Books  Sculpture Links  Shop